Tasting Satya ~ Forgiveness ~ Path to Your Truth

Today pay close attention and go slow enough so you “do it right the first time.” You don’t have to backtrack to apologize or correct mistakes and where you don’t run from any hard tasks that present themselves. Face each moment head on with clarity and courage.  Use this time for forgiveness.  This is my process of incorporating and learning the Yoga lifestyle as a way of learning and growing spiritually to live the life that is meant for me.  This is how I am making the necessary modifications that work to gain a better understanding of my truth and will hopefully enable you to thrive and live a mindfulness filled bliss life.

Yoga: A way of life

Satya is one of the Yama. Ashtanga Yoga has eight limbs: Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana, and Samadhi. Yama is a list of yoga precepts that a Yogi should cultivate for successful mastery of Yoga. Different Yoga scriptures list a different number of precepts of Yama. Yoga Sutra of Patanjali prescribes five precepts: Ahimsa, Satya, Asteya, Brahmacharya, and Aparigraha. In other words, Nonviolence, Truthfulness, Nonstealing, Continence, and Non-receiving are the five-fold Yama.

Satya is the second precept of five-fold Yama Satya Meaning The Sanskrit word Satya means Truth or veracity. The meaning it indicates is more than the meaning the English word Truth indicates. Satya stems from the Sanskrit root Sat which means reality or existence. Sat refers to empirical reality. Rtam In Rig Veda, we come across the triple term: Satyam Rtam Brhat. It is one of the most important religious conceptions of Rig Veda. Sri Aurobindo explains these terms in his book: The Secrets of the Veda. He explains “This psychological conception is that of a truth which is the truth of divine essence, not truth of mortal sensation and appearance. It is Satyam, the truth of being; it is in its action Rtam, right, the truth of divine being regulating right activity both of mind and body; and it is Brhat, the universal truth proceeding direct and undeformed out of the Infinite.

Later, the word Sat has been used to mean the absolute truth and Satya has been used to mean the relative truth or worldly truth the nature of which is changing from time to time; where absolute truth is permanent.

Satya and Yoga In Yoga, Satya is one of the Dharma to be observed. Dharma means the observances of righteous thoughts and behavior. It is one of the five Yamas or Self-restraint prescribed in Yoga. Sathya in Yoga Sutra Patanjali defined Satya as “Satya pratithāya kriyā Phala āśrayatvam. It means by the establishment of truthfulness, the Yogi gets the power of attaining the fruits of works without doing work, for him and other. Swami Vivekananda explains When the power of truth is established with you, then even in a dream you never tell an untruth, in thought, word, or deed; whatever you say will be the truth. You may say a man ‘Be blessed’ and that man will be blessed. If a man is diseased, you say to him ‘Be thou cured,’ he will be cured immediately”.   https://bit.ly/Subscribeyoga.

Expresso Shot Meditation ~ Truthfulness through Forgiveness




Blessings to all…

In Gratitude,

Jan Marie


Eating your Dosha!!


© 2021 Tasting Nirvana- All Rights Reserved.  No portion of this site can be reprinted without express permission of author.


Published by Jannat Marie

I am a 20+ Breast Cancer Survivor whose passion is culinary, literary, and Yogic principles of living the fullest and vibrant life under any circumstance.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: